Who Is Jesus? An Unpopular Truth


2 Peter 1:1 Simon Peter, a bondservant and apostle of Jesus Christ, to those who have obtained like precious faith with us by the righteousness of our God and Savior Jesus Christ.

The King James translated this verse to say “by the righteousness of God and our Savior Jesus Christ.” The difference is that the Jehovah’s Witness will use the KJV to prove that Peter is speaking of two different identities, rather than calling Jesus God.

In the Greek it does literally say  “of God our and Savior Jesus Christ” (too The-oo hemone kai Soatheros I-asus Christoo).

To better understand this verse let’s take a look at verse 11 – “For so an entrance will be supplied to you abundantly into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

In the Greek it literally says ” of Lord our and Savior Jesus Christ” (too Kuri-oo hemone kai Saotheros I-asus Christo0).

The only difference in the two is in one verse Peter uses God and the other he uses Lord. Grammatically translating into English is not always as simple as word for word in the same order. The same is true in translating other languages such as Spanish into English.

The preposition “of” (too) brings both God and Savior together in verse 1 as well as Lord and Savior together in verse 11. Peter is literally referring to Jesus as God in verse 1.

But, in verse 2 Peter changes it up and actually does refer to God the Father and Jesus our Lord. “Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.”

In the Greek it literally reads “of God and Jesus of Lord our” (too The-oo kai I-asus too kuri-oo hemone).

Notice the “of” (too) for both? Each has their own preposition.

So, what does Peter believe about Jesus? He believes the same as what Thomas did in John 20:28 “My Lord and my God!”

Do not allow anyone to tell you that Jesus was just a man or just a prophet or another God among many gods. Jesus is God just as much as the Father and the Holy Spirit is God.

I will not say that the King James translated it wrong but the way it is translated it could be used as an argument either way. But, in the original there is no argument.

Why is it so important to understand the divinity of Jesus Christ? We are living in a time that many are teaching that all religions worship the same God but by a different name. I can argue against that point but let’s keep one thing clear – Jesus Himself said that there was no other way to get to the Father except through Him.

I saw a survey recently that said that over 40% of Christians believe that all religions worship the same God. We have to study the Word of God or there will be many who think that they know what is right and will be dead wrong. Eternity is at risk.

  • The Mormons teach that Jesus and Satan are brothers and that one day they will become a god as Jesus did.
  • The Jehovah’s Witness teach that Jesus is just another god.
  • Islam teaches that Jesus will return but will be submissive to Mohammed’s teachings.

It is very important to know your Bible and know the God of the Word. If Jesus does not return soon it may be illegal for me to write such things. This teaching is what got many Christians killed in Rome in the early centuries. History has a way of repeating itself.

https://wordnuggets.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/is-jesus-god/

To find awesome iPhone & iPad apps for the Christian Walk and Ministry go to n8slist.com

2 Responses

  1. The Bible says about Jesus: That all things were created by Him and for him, and that without him was not anything made that was made; it says that Jesus is without genealogy, without decent, without beginning of days nor end of time; it says that He is both the “Author” and “Finisher” of our faith;” It says it is He with whom we have to do; He who we need to be yoked too; He who we are to become like; He who is the express image of the invisible; He who is Lord of Lords and King of Kings: Many years ago after I left atheism and had become a Christian, yet not having had any Christian instruction prior to that time I was confused as to just who Jesus was (As an atheist I just hated Him, even though I knew nothing about Him); as I pondered these things one day I found myself in the presence of God and said, “Father I know who you are, and i know who the Holy Spirit is, but who is Jesus?” He answered me in His own voice and said, “He is the one who died for you.” I think I said, “Oh.” The Bible says that God alone is savior, and so Jesus is: Elohim, the God of Creation found in Genesis who is the Plural One! God is one, and Jesus is one of the One: Even as Isaiah 9:6 calls Him the “Ever lasting Father,” and Jesus said, “If you seen me you’ve seen the Father / I and the Father are One!” I Am!

  2. I did a bible study of this. Here is an exerpt:
    John 1:1-5
    ” 1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was with God in the beginning. 3 Through Him all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made.”
    Okay, “the Word”. What is “the Word”? The answer is in Revelation 19:13
    “13 He is dressed in a robe dipped in blood, and His name is the Word of God.”
    This is talking about Jesus and the robe dipped in blood is talking about the crucifixion and the blood that was shed as the ultimate sacrifice (as oposed to sacrificing an animal for our sins He gave himself so that we wouldn’t have to do that anymore). We have atonement because of His blood and that very atoning blood is what the robe is dipped in. “and His name is the Word of God” Jesus is identified as the “Word of God” so we now know who John was talking about in the first chapter of his book.
    So what now? We know that Jesus is our Creator, He is also talked about in Isaiah (He’s all over the book of Isaiah but I want to go to chapter 9:6)
    “6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. ”
    This is Prophecy that God will be born on earth and will rule “and the government will be on his shoulders”. (See Matthew 28:18)
    Lets take a look at another couple of verses
    Exodus 3:14
    “14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.'”
    Who does Jesus say He is?
    John 8:54-58
    ” 54 Jesus replied, “If I glorify myself, my glory means nothing. My Father, whom you claim as your God, is the one who glorifies me. 55 Though you do not know him, I know him. If I said I did not, I would be a liar like you, but I do know him and obey his word. 56 Your father Abraham rejoiced at the thought of seeing my day; he saw it and was glad. 57 “You are not yet fifty years old,” they said to him, “and you have seen Abraham!” 58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!”
    I hope this helps someone, God bless.

Leave a Reply

