True Worship Example 2


picture-141 Chronicles 21:24 Then King David said to Ornan, “No, but I will surely but it for the full price, for I will not take what is yours for the Lord, nor offer burnt offerings with that which costs me nothing.”

Ornan tried to give David a piece of land to worship God on, but David insisted on paying for it.  As I give myself as an offering of worship, like incense, my praise and prayer becomes a sweet fragrance at the throne of God.  The more effort I put into my time spent with God the more it cost me and the sweeter it becomes.

2 Responses

  1. In todays church environment we would label Ornan’s “gift” as a blessing and sign of the Lord’s “favor”! Then we would harold his sensitivity and obedience which in turn exalts us even higher because we are so prosperous …

    I wonder how often I (we generically) rob ourselves from true blessing and intimacy by taking the easy route?

  2. Hello,

    I particularly liked this part of your post: “The more effort I put into my time spent with God the more it cost me and the sweeter it becomes.”

    It reminds me of a group of monks who say a prayer every day for God to break their hearts, so they can develop an even deeper relationship with him. They too understand the sweetness that follows the pain.

    Thanks,
    Dr. Deb

Leave a Reply

