Never Getting Ahead


The Devourer

The Devourer

Malachi 3:10-11 “Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be food in My house, and try Me now in this,” Says the Lord ¬†of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven and pour out for you such blessing that there will not be room enough to receive it. And I will rebuke the devourer for your sakes, so that he will not destroy the fruit of your ground, nor shall the vine fail to bear fruit for you in the field,” says the Lord of Host;

Yes, I am one of those who believe that this verse works for us today. It is a practice that preceded the law. It was the practice of not just 10%, which is what the word tithe means. It is the practice of first fruit. It is where Cain failed. It is what Abram did in Genesis 14. It is the city of Jericho was when Israel defeated them. Some even believe that it was what was requested of Adam and Eve when they were asked not to eat of the tree, that it was God’s portion.

But, that is not what I am wanting focus on. In Malachi God mentions a devourer. Each time we give of our tithe (first fruit, ten percent) He rebukes the devourer. What we often fail to remember is that the reverse is true. If we do not give in our tithe then we have the devourer taking from us.

The point is, there is never a moment where we will ever enjoy 100% of our increase. We either give to our Provider what is His share or the devourer takes and often wants far more than 10%. Please remember that not everything has to do with money. It can be health. It can be your family. It can be your employment. It can be your relationships.

This principle has always worked for me and it will for you too. Keep the devourer away!

One Response

  1. This is true! Have you ever wondered where all your money went. You start to calculated in your mind what all did I spend my money on. Have you ever had an unexpected cost come out of no where? Such as: car repairs, garnishments, leans, unresolved debt that becomes a force able issue, inflation, job loss, unexpected hospital bills, unexpected death in the family etc… I could go on and on. This is the devour. The devour gives you no warning of preparation. God does rebuke the devour. God does give you warning and preparation ( Remember God prepared Joseph for a great famine) I’ve been on both sides of the fence. Where I’ve tithed faithfully and where I suddenly stopped. I always go back to tithing, because I’ve seen the devour and wished I would have tithed. When I knew I had the money in the bank and my debit card is declined. I write a check and the check bounces to find out I have a lean on my bank account for the cost of my son’s circumcision that took place five years ago. This is the devour. The devour did not warn me, but hit me like a whirlwind. I say “Yes” to tithing!

Leave a Reply

