Prophesy


Peter Preaching

Peter Preaching

Acts 2:17-18 And it shall come to pass in the last days, says God, that I will pour out My Spirit on all flesh; your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your young men shall dream dreams. And on My menservants and on My maidservants I will pour out My Spirit in those days; and they shall prophesy.

Peter is preaching a sermon and begins it by quote the prophet Joel in Joel 2. I shared only half of it because the point I am wanting to make is here in these two verses.

He quoted Joel and then at the end of verse 18 Peter added a phrase that was not found in Joel’s prophesy. Actual, it is mentioned once but Peter took it upon himself to add it a second time for emphasis, “And they shall prophesy.”

Why should Peter choose to emphasize prophesying? It would seem to be a key to what the Holy Spirit is wanting to do. Acts 11:27; Acts 21:8-9; 1 Corinthians 14:1-5,31

1 Corinthians 14:1 Pursue love, and desire spiritual gifts, but especially that you my prophesy.

Feel free to leave a comment or insight.

3 Responses

  1. I know the new apple ipad looks great and cant wait to get one for the wife. Nice site by the way.

  2. Hello my name is Catherine
    I have a christian blog as well and i am trying to figure out how to connect with others.Drop me a line please as i am testing this new blog thank much. I really am not sure how to get readers yet.
    Yours look great

  3. You may want to checkout these other verses;
    1 Thessalonians 5:19-22
    2 Peter 1:21

    Oh and I just wrote a article on Prophesy and Spiritual Gifts. Take a look if your interested. Thanks so much and enjoyed yours.

Leave a Reply

