Do You Think Twice?


images-1Matthew 14:30-31 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!” And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

This word “doubt” is often more trouble than our faith is. Often it is not the strength or the weakness of our faith that is the issue but it is this word doubt.  A very insightful father made this plea with Jesus in Mark 9:24 “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!”

So, what is doubt anyway? The Greek word for doubt comes from the root word that means twice. Doubting is thinking twice. 

Anyone, given enough time, can talk themselves out of a commitment. 

I joined a group 10 years ago to sell a product called “PrePaid Legal.” They had weekly meetings and it kept me pumped up for awhile. Then pastoral duties came up which cause me to miss several weeks and that was all it took to convince myself that I did not need to be selling this product on the side. Recently, the man who signed me up, who is my age, just retired with his wife to an island. They stayed focused.

I did not want to retire or make a fortune, but it would have been nice to finance the ministry dreams I have.

Doubt is the moment you think twice. Doubt is the thought of discouragement that makes you think twice. Doubt is to changed a convinced mind.

It would amaze us how powerful our faith would be if we would refuse to think twice once our mind was made up.

Leave a Reply

