The Book Of Mormon


images1There goes another set of bicyclers in white shirt and tie giving away the Book of Mormon to anyone who will open the door to them.

According to one of the three witnesses the Book of Mormon says witnessed the translating that Joseph Smith did, every word was translated word for word, letter for letter:

“Joseph Smith would put the seer stone into a hat, and put his face in the hat, drawing it closely around his face to exclude the light; and in the darkness the spiritual light would shine. A piece of something resembling a parchment would appear, and on that appeared the writing. One character at a time would appear and under it was the interpretation in English. Brother Joseph would read off the English to Oliver Cowdery, who was his principal scribe, and when it was written down and repeated to brother Joseph to see if it was correct, then it would disappear, and another character with the interpretation would appear.” (Address to All Believers in Christ, Richmond, Missouri, 1887, p. 12).

And yet there are thousands of grammatical and spellings errors that have been corrected from edition to edition. Not only was this “word for word” miraclulous translation from God contain many mistakes but there are many contridictions with the Bible as well.

  1. Alma 7:10, And behold, he shall be born of Mary at Jerusalem. BUT, Matthew 2:1 says Bethlehem.
  2. Mosiah 18:17 dated the birth of the Church at 145 B.C. but the Church began in Act 2, approximately A.D. 33.
  3. Helaman 14:20,27 says that there were three days of darkness at the crucifixion of Christ. BUT, Luke 23:44 says that the darkness lasted three hours.
  4. Esther 1:34-35 states that at the tower of Babel the Jaredites had their own langauge. BUT, Genesis 11:1 says that there was one language for the whole earth.
  5. Ester 3:8-9 speaks of God having flesh and blood. BUT, John 4:24 says that God is a Spirit.
  6. Alma 46:13,15 claim that people wearing the Christian name about 75 years before Jesus was even born.

So, why should we even think about adding more to the Scripture we already have? How can any intelligent human believe a book with so many evident mistakes? The list could go on!

Some will argue that the errors in the Book of Mormon are no different from all of the different translations of the Bible. There is a big difference. Our english bible is translated from original text which we have. The Book of Mormon is described as being translated by God Himself into english with Joseph Smith’s head in a hat.

Hold to the Bible and keep that as your foundation. The Bible has more and more evidence being discovered all the time that it’s stories really did happen. Where is the evidence from the Book of Mormon? Please, someone give me one.

http://mormonchallenge.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eG0XKVbgK9g

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0sECvoqzi4A&feature=channel_page

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J86PXBEzx7A&feature=channel

10 Responses

  1. Try a google search on Biblical contradictions and mistakes. That list goes on also.

    The same reconciliations one make for biblical errors could also be applied to the Book of Mormon. They are the same type of ‘errors’.

  2. Well, here is the difference, Eric. The Bible is translated from the original text and the claim that the english is word for word is not valid nor has it ever been a claim. We go back to the original. The dead sea scrolls proved that what we have in the OT is letter for letter exact.

    As for biblical contradictions and mistakes, I have seen many of those lists and only found one that could be truly claimed as a possible mistake, an age of a king, the difference of one letter. Everything that I have found from these lists are given by people who do not know scripture well. They are not students of the word. The claims of mistakes or contradictions have many mistakes themselves. The Bible has stood the test of time.

    BUT, the claims on the book of mormon was that it was word for word and thousands of changes have been made without the help of any “original” writings. The Bible and the Book of Mormon are not in the same league. The bible has originals to refer back to. The Book of Mormon does not have the claimed original writings.

    If you really want to get in on the differences; for years many educated declared the Bible to be wrong because there was not evidence that the Hittites ever existed. That was until they found it last century. This is one example out of hundreds or thousands. They have yet to find any clear evidence of any civilization described in the Book of Mormon. I know that there are claims to some of the South American groups but there has been nothing concrete. Only claims.

    What I have been told is that I must accept the Book of Mormon by faith, regardless of the lack of evidence. Really? With that challenge, what keeps us from believing every story claiming to be true or from a god or believing the Wizard of Oz?

    Dear Eric, the Book of Mormon has many errors.

  3. We all have to rely on faith in some things don’t we?

    For any who are interested in answers to several criticisms of the Book of Mormon see here

    • Thank you Eric for the internet link you sent. It took me all of 2 minutes to read the following on the LDS resource site:

      Several efforts have been made to “prove” that what the Book of Mormon has to say about the history of the new world cannot possibly have been the case. I even have some LDS friends whose faith seems to be shaken by the idea that the Book of Mormon may not be, in all respects, literally true. And now my question: Does it really matter? Does the Church actually have some doctrine that requires its members to believe in the literalness of every word in the Book of Mormon?

      “YES IT MATTERS!”

      I am sorry, even though there are those who call themselves Christians who do not take the bible literally, Christianity DOES take the Bible literally. There was an Adam and Eve. There was a flood. There was a crossing of the Red Sea.

    • Yes Eric, we do have to have faith in some things, but I can choose not to have faith in the Hale-bopp Comet, for example. For them there was no evidence that aliens would truly take them. It was based upon a claim.

      I challenge you to put your faith in the Bible, filled with the footprints of God Almighty. Jewish Rabbis say that Moses did not exactly see the back of God as He passed by him in Genesis 33. Rather, he saw where God had been – evidence of His existence and presence.

      This is the very reason that I can not accept evolution. There is more evidence that we began through creation. Science, every time is turns around, is discovering more clues as to a creator. DNA was the biggest evidence of a Designer. It is not blind faith. It is faith in the unseen from the evidence of what has been and watching prophecy of “what shall be” come to pass.

      The sad fact is that I have only met one LDS in my years that has confessed that they have read the bible all the way through. Discover how deep it is. If it truly is the fullness of the gospel as the introduction of the Book of Mormon declares, then it is worth your investment – reading and writing about.

      Take a look at some of the word nuggets I have written under the category “Hidden in the Hebrew.” The old Testament is rich with illustrations of Jesus Christ concealed. The New Testament is rich with illustrations of Jesus Christ revealed. Discover them for yourself and walk in faith in it’s evidence.

  4. Whether you know it or not, most Mormons take the Bible quite literally. More than most people, from my observation. Most Mormons believe in a real garden of Eden, in Adam as the first man, in a universal flood, a lieral resurrection, etc. Most Mormons do not accept evolution either.

    You probably need to meet more Mormons. The youth seminary program in the church cycles through the ‘scriptures’ every four years (the quotes are for your benefit). So my 16 year old son has had a year of Old Testament study and a year of New testament study. Also every BYU grad will have taken at least a semester on the Old Testament and a semester on the New Testament.

    Mormons read and love the Bible. I will admit that many Mormons’ knowledge of the Bible could be described as ‘broad’ other than ‘deep’, but that is better than nothing.

    • You are right in that I have only met about 20 “Elders,” male and female and only one of them said that they had read the bible all of the way through. I am sorry but that was all I had to go on. I am glad to hear that LDS members study the Bible.

      Keep in mind that it does not matter how many of the members believe the Book of Mormon. It matters that a loophole has been given not to believe it on an official LDS site. How can this be if it is the fulness of the gospel?

      Christians read and love the Bible too, and many could be described as ‘broad’ rather than ‘deep’ also. I don’t believe that it is better than nothing. The Word of God has life and power. It is living! Jesus is the Word! That is why I write these blogs, too hopefully stir interest in studying the Bible for those who do not. Hebrews says that the worlds were created through the spoken word. I want to know more about the One who spoke the word. Yet, in my lifetime I will never reach the depth of what is in the Bible. It is the fullness of the Gospel.

  5. I have found this discussion topic to be quite interesting. After reading Nathan’s original post, and the comments, I felt myself moved to add in my two cents. As Nathan knows me, he will not be surprised by this at all. I’m not trying to stick my nose into something here, and I hate to sound like I am putting down someone’s chosen path, but my conscious will not let me pass this by. If I come across as critical of the Mormon faith, I apologize in advance. However, I am well known to speak my mind.

    I’ve had many Mormon’s cross my doorstep over the years and I am not a rude person so I speak to them. What Eric says about Mormon’s bible study is not hard to credit, but yet I find some serious lack of basic understanding in those that I have come across. I will not get into specifics, because that would sound to critical, but it appears to me that Mormons consider the Christian bible secondary, and a simple tool to gain some understanding of the past. What seems to be lacking is the understanding of the present and the future, as God has put forth in the Christian bible. This is where, for me, trouble comes.

    Also, the historical evidence of the Bible is simply amazing. We have the dead sea scrolls, and we have archeological evidence, which is growing every year. The fact that there are so many scrolls that match the Hebrew version of the Old Testament as it exists today is pretty remarkable. A few years ago, a tomb was found in Arabia (I can’t remember exactly where) that has carved on it that the person had sent servants to Egypt, to one Joseph, for grain, due to the famine. I tried to find a link to this but since the news of this broke several years ago, I couldn’t find it. My point is this. The Christian bible is a living breathing document that has so much supporting evidence outside of it. Every year, archeologists, many of whom have no particular religious affiliation, find more supporting evidence that people and places listed in the bible were real.

    The book of Mormon, I believe, does not have the same support. The very fact that the writings from Mr. Smith appeared, then disappeared is something that does not match up to how God has worked throughout the ages. When God moved, when He did something, When He directed someone, there is evidence of it left behind. Not one or two pieces of evidence, but many. Although there has been instances in the bible where God directed ONE person, in many cases there were others affected in ways that have been recorded and evidence left behind. Such as Joseph, Moses, and others. Mr. Smith was one man, with a scribe, and other than that, there is no remaining evidence that what was given to him came from God. Even when Moses destroyed the original tablets made by God containing the commandments, another set was made and placed in the Ark. No, we don’t have the Ark today, but the point I’m trying to make is that God always leaves something behind, through man, to show His movements. When God acted, whether it was directly or through a person, there was supporting evidence left behind. This is one of the things that makes the bible a living document.

    The same can not be said of the book of Mormon. This simply does not match up with how God acts. I hope I was able to make my point clear and again, I’m not trying to be critical. It just seems to me that things just don’t add up at the end of the day, so to speak.

    I too would encourage Eric to immerse himself in the bible, then reference the existing evidence that backs up what is there.

  6. Gee, maybe I will crack open the Bible for the first time…sheesh.

    Historical evidence is not what makes the Bible true or the word of God. Was the Bible less true prior to the dead sea scroll discoveries? Of course not. If we were to find out that there is historical evidence behind the Koran should we leave Christianity and become muslims? No. If over the next 50 years there began to be more historical evidence coming from central America that gave some more support to Book of Mormon historicity would you beat a path to Mormonism because of it? I doubt it.

    It is the spirit that witnesses the truth of the Bible, the Book of Mormon, and any other religious truth. I would encourage you to drop your bias, and read and pray about the Book of Mormon.

    I would encourage you to immerse yourself in prayer, then reference the content of the Book of Mormon. (As if you never prayed before…sheesh)

    • Eric, I wish that I could say that I would pray over the Book of Mormon but Paul said in Galatians 1:8 But even if we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel to you than what we have preached to you, let him be accursed. The Book of Mormon teaches what has been described as another gospel.

      As for the dead sea scrolls, did they begin the evidence of the truth of the scriptures? I am sorry but they had evidence back in Jesus day and before. There has always been evidence. God leaves His footprints. I am safe in knowing that those footprints will not be found in any other religious writing because there is no other God.

      Also, about reading the Book of Mormon, I believe that even the Book of Mormon says in it’s introduction that it is the fullness of the gospel just as the bible is. I am not sure that I quoted it exactly, I could not find my copy. The point is that the Book of Mormon recognizes the Bible as being the fullness of the Gospel. If it is the fullness than I have no need of anything else.

      Thank you Eric for this sharing time. My prayer is that our eyes be open to see all of the revelation of God and His fullness. My desire is that there be less of me and more of Him in me.

Leave a Reply

