Shabach – Praise


Screen shot 2009-09-02 at 9.00.08 AMPsalm 63:3-4 Because Your lovingkindness [is] better than life, My lips shall praise You. Thus I will bless You while I live; I will lift up my hands in Your name.

This word for praise is “Shabach” which means to sooth or to stroke as in stroking the water. This is a soft tone or praise. The story that the letters tell is your house being consumed with God’s covenant. This is that overwhelming moment that you are engulfed into God’s presence.

This same word is used in Psalm 8:2, but is used to describe what God will do to the mouth of the enemy:

Out of the mouth of babes and nursing infants You have ordained strength, Because of Your enemies, That You may silence the enemy and the avenger.

When Jesus quoted this verse in Matthew 21:16 He said, “Have you never read, Out of the mouth of babes and nursing infants You have perfected praise?”

This “perfected praise” is what shuts the mouth of the the enemy and the avenger. It is ordained strength. All the more reason to have a quiet time with God.

So, how is it perfected? When my young grandchildren try to talk to me on the phone it is very hard for me to understand them with their broken speech. They are young and I am not so young. Although I may not have caught everything that they said, I did catch what their heart was saying. By the time it got to my ears my heart perfected it. By the time it leaves our lips and gets to God’s ears, our praise has been perfected.

To find awesome iPhone and iPad apps for the Christian Walk and Ministry go to n8slist.com

6 Responses

  1. Although I have found your comments very interesting and enjoyable, I have also found a few of the words defined differently than what I have found on other sites-the most different is shabach-
    The definition I have found on several sites is SHOUT, CRY ALOUD, WITH A LOUD TONE, LAUD.

    Why the difference in meanings?
    Please explain?
    Thank you. Murlene

    • http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?Strongs=H7623&t=KJV The focus of this word is not upon the tone but what it expresses. I do not mean to take away from the shout. This praise can be in a shout, but is not normally expressed with a shout.

  2. Yep, the interwebs aren’t always accurate! You’ve got to look at the root of the original Hebrew word and not a bunch of websites that quote each other.

    • My article is based upon the understanding that “shabach” is a primitive root. If you know of a root that I am not aware of please feel free to share it with me. I am never beyond learning something new. I can only operate within the knowledge that I have. It is easy to scold and accuse but quite another to explain your point. Of course, I am really not sure what “bunch” of websites you are referring to. I would be interested in discovering them also.

  3. Shabach means, “to shout, to address in a loud tone, to command, to triumph.”
    Ps 47:1, “O clap your hands, all peoples; shout (shabach) to God with the voice of joy (or triumph).”
    Ps 145:4, “One generation shall praise (shabach) thy works to another and declare thy mighty acts.”
    Isa 12:6, “Cry aloud and shout (shabach) for joy, O inhabitant of Zion, For great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.”
    Other references: Ps 63:1-4; Ps.117:1; Ps 35:27; Ps 106:47

    I hope this will help you.

  4. An insightful post there mate . Thanks for that .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

